Weekend Reads and Thoughts #1

Hey guys!

I’ve decided to start up a weekly post called Weekend Reads and Thoughts. It’s typically known as Friday Reads on other blogs but since Friday is an awkward day for me to post and I’d also like to include my thoughts on how the book is so far, I decided to be hipster and call it something else!

CURRENTLY READING:

Steelheart (#1 Reckoners)
by Brandon Sanderson

Progress: 215 of 386 pages

Thoughts so far: I actually went into this book thinking the main characters were going to be the ones with superpowers so I was really excited to see how they were going to become super awesome and powerful over the course of this book. However, I soon find out that this is not the case. However, am I disappointed? Not really.

I love how this story takes a total different take on superheroes. It definitely can be a hard story to write about since the protagonists are these humans called the Reckoners and the villains are these almost invincible superheroes (not really heroes) called Epics. Like, how are they supposed to beat the bad guys?

The one thing I’ve found very intriguing about the Epics is the fact that they all have primary, secondary etc. powers and also, they all have a weakness. Just like Superman is weakened in the presence of kryptonite, all of the Epics have that one thing that makes them less invincible than they are. Also, the range of powers and weaknesses are so varied; it’s amazing.

Although I am over halfway through the book and the book is fairly (though not extremely) fast paced now, it has not been like this for the whole book. I can say that I’m slightly disappointed with the lack of extreme action and fighting in a book based in such a chaotic world but y’know, I’m still going to give this book a chance. I can see that it’s really getting somewhere awesome.

So overall, really enjoying the book so far and like David, I really want to know what’s up with Megan.

Leave a Reply

